Hotel’s dispute

The scene from the novel that I will analyze is from page 69 to 71. Basically, this scene is when Anna and Walter are with Germaine and Vincent at the hotel.  Germaine is mad because Vincent acts like he’s perfect and this lead to a big dispute between them.  Germaine tells Vincent how she feels and she is not happy. I chose this particular scene because it`s the first time in the novel that a woman comforts a men which is really interesting. It was the first time that Anna witnesses this kind of dispute and that puts her in a very uncomfortable position: “I hated the way they were looking at each other. I got up.’’(71) She seemed surprised by Germaine’s reaction and she didn`t like the fact that Anna went out. I think she went out because she was kind of chocked with what happened, she probably never thought a women could be so caring with a men and that’s why she left. The reason why I did this project is because I felt like drawing again. In high school, I went to an art school where I played instrument, and drew. So I draw a lot even if I was not that good but I really liked to draw and since I went to college I never really draw. So to have the opportunity to draw again is something that I really like about this project, even if I don’t have a big talent. Therefore for drawing, I will really pick up on Germaine and Anna, because it’s Germaine that goes in front of Vincent and tells what she thinks and Anna seems very surprise to see that because she never thought something like that could happen. To makes that happen, I really make details on Anna`s face that shows she`s surprise and for Germaine, I make sure that she is mad by showing her face and arms that`s up. The challenge I had by doing this work been to do the people. I mean by doing Anna, Walter, Vincent and Germaine because there is lots of details by doing them. Especially Anna and Germaine because that’s what I really pick up on so I tried my best to look as it supposed to be.  I feel my work succeed in capturing the spirit of the novel because although the scene where Anna meets Walter, I think the scene I choose is also very important. Like I said previously, trough the novel the women was not respected by men and Germaine says it “The women were are awful…They`re like that because most Englishmen don`t care adman about women. “(70) To have Germaine that says that and wants to be respected by men, it shows that she has character. So for sure my work captured the spirit of the novel and Anna seems to learn for that because now she knows that her friend Germaine is right and through the novel she changes.

The scene from the novel that I will analyze is from page 69 to 71. Basically, this scene is when Anna and Walter are with Germaine and Vincent at the hotel.  Germaine is mad because Vincent acts like he’s perfect and this lead to a big dispute between them.  Germaine tells Vincent how she feels and she is not happy. I chose this particular scene because it`s the first time in the novel that a woman comforts a men which is really interesting. It was the first time that Anna witnesses this kind of dispute and that puts her in a very uncomfortable position: “I hated the way they were looking at each other. I got up.’’(71) She seemed surprised by Germaine’s reaction and she didn`t like the fact that Anna went out. I think she went out because she was kind of chocked with what happened, she probably never thought a women could be so caring with a men and that’s why she left. The reason why I did this project is because I felt like drawing again. In high school, I went to an art school where I played instrument, and drew. So I draw a lot even if I was not that good but I really liked to draw and since I went to college I never really draw. So to have the opportunity to draw again is something that I really like about this project, even if I don’t have a big talent. Therefore for drawing, I will really pick up on Germaine and Anna, because it’s Germaine that goes in front of Vincent and tells what she thinks and Anna seems very surprise to see that because she never thought something like that could happen. To makes that happen, I really make details on Anna`s face that shows she`s surprise and for Germaine, I make sure that she is mad by showing her face and arms that`s up. The challenge I had by doing this work been to do the people. I mean by doing Anna, Walter, Vincent and Germaine because there is lots of details by doing them. Especially Anna and Germaine because that’s what I really pick up on so I tried my best to look as it supposed to be.  I feel my work succeed in capturing the spirit of the novel because although the scene where Anna meets Walter, I think the scene I choose is also very important. Like I said previously, trough the novel the women was not respected by men and Germaine says it “The women were are awful…They`re like that because most Englishmen don`t care adman about women. “(70) To have Germaine that says that and wants to be respected by men, it shows that she has character. So for sure my work captured the spirit of the novel and Anna seems to learn for that because now she knows that her friend Germaine is right and through the novel she changes.

One thought on “Hotel’s dispute

  1. Nice artwork! I like how Anna looks like she’s in a horror movie. It fits in nicely with the grotesque imagery in the novel. In the scene you refer to, of course, they are sitting around a table (Anna says “I got up,” etc.). So, this picture doesn’t reflect the actual dimensions of what’s going on. But, it’s an interesting recreation, and focusing on Anna’s face is a good choice. The composition is interesting, and the colours help bring it to life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

