My First Memory

Task two: Memoir

When I was about 3 years old I remember going into surgery for my teeth. As a child I despised drinking milk so I would turn to juice instead. My mom, tired of hearing me cry, would give it to me just so I can stay quiet for a little while. This caused my baby teeth to be not so healthy and I needed to do some type of surgery. I remember being home playing with my toys when my mom tells me we needed to go see the doctor. Obviously I didn’t know what was coming. When we got to the hospital and the nurse dressed me in a little blue gown I was getting very nervous because I was still unaware of what was happening. She gave me this book, which is still have to calm me down. It was square and purple and it had a little bear dressed in green overalls sitting in a laundry basket on it. For about 2 hours before I had to go into surgery, I flipped through the pages multiple times just looking at the colors and pretending I knew how to read. When the nurse came to take me I asked if I could keep the book and she said yes. As she took the book away from me to give it to my parents I started screaming and crying because I realised my mom and dad weren’t coming with me into the room with the mean doctor. I remember looking through the tiny window of the door separating me from my parents, my vision so blurry from the tears, all i could think about was that I would never see them again. After a couple of hours, when I opened my eyes, I remember seeing the ground. Then I realised that we had left the hospital and my dad was carrying me like a sack of potatoes on his shoulders. It was dark out and I remember seeing a man sitting by the vents of the hospital curled in a ball shivering from the cold. I asked my dad why he was sitting there and he said he has no home. I started crying and asked him if we can ask him to come home with us. My father took me off his shoulders and gave me a five-dollar bill and told me to go give it to him. So I did as he said and my last memory of this night was the man’s smile and how happy he was.

Task three: Identity

When I was about 3 years old I remember going into surgery for my teeth. As a child I despised drinking milk so I would turn to juice instead. My mom, tired of hearing me cry, would give it to me just so I can stay quiet for a little while. This caused my baby teeth to be not so healthy and I needed to do some type of surgery. I remember being home playing with my toys when my mom tells me we needed to go see the doctor. I got up and put my jacket on, and waited at the door for my parents. My mom asked me if I maybe wanted to bring a toy with me to keep me busy I told her I didn’t need it. Once we got to the hospital the lady at the front desk asked my mom for my name and I told her instead. When she asked me if I was afraid I told her I wasn’t and she called me brave. I liked that way that sounded. The nurse came by and brought me to a room to pick the gown I would wear for the surgery. I picked the blue one and I put it on all by myself. For 2 hours I was sitting on a chair swinging my legs back and forth just waiting to hear my name. The nurse offered me a book so I took it. I didn’t really need a distraction from anything but it did make the time pass a lot faster. When they finally called my name, my mom took me in her arms and hugged me so tight I thought I was going to stop breathing.

Task four: More identity

When I was about 3 years old I remember going into surgery for my teeth. As a child I despised drinking milk so I would turn to juice instead. My mom, tired of hearing me cry, would give it to me just so I can stay quiet for a little while. This caused my baby teeth to be not so healthy and I needed to do some type of surgery. I remember being home playing with my toys when my mom tells me we needed to go see the doctor. Pretending not to hear my mom I continued on playing with my toys and that made her really mad. When she leaned over to pick me up I squirmed out of her reach and started running around the house screaming “I don’t need a doctor” and “I’m not going anywhere”. This got her really mad and she threatened to take my toys away so I gave in. I was taking my time putting on my jacket, pretending I didn’t know how to put it on and this got my mom even more mad. When we got to the hospital and I got dressed for the surgery I refused to get up from my chair. The nurse told me that I needed to go to the bathroom before I went in because it was going to be a long procedure. I didn’t want to get up. I didn’t want to do the surgery. I didn’t want to leave my toys alone at home. For the whole two hours of waiting I was screaming and crying which caused me to be the most hated person in that waiting room.

Task Five: Henry’s Identity

At the beginning of chapter 12, Henry goes to work with his father. His father is the milkman so he’s up very early in the morning where the moon and the stars are still visible. In this passage I think that Henry’s emotions are on a roller coaster ride. He mentions something positive like the fact that he was excited to be awake so early in the morning but yet he wonders “why [his] father had asked [him] to come along since he had taken to beating [him] with the razor stop…” and that “…[they] weren’t getting along.” (50) This shows Henry’s confusion to his father’s actions towards him and it almost feels like he’s always on the edge with what he chooses to tell him his dad. Normally a father son conversation is fluent and persona; but it seems like Henry doesn’t have this connection with his father. Further down his father asks him about directions and what he would do if he would leave him on the sidewalk and drive off. Henry answers in a very direct way saying no more than he was asked to say until he answer’s his father’s survival question with “Well, I guess I’d go back and drink the milk and orange juice you just left on the porch steps.” (51) This is a smart answer for a child but his father doesn’t seem to care much and asks another question. Finally Henry says that he would rat his father out to the police for telling him that “west was south because [he] wanted to get [him] lost.” This is an answer I did not expect from Henry and I was almost certain that his dad would pull over to beat him for saying something so rude. Although Henry is afraid of his father and is supposed to watch what he says to him, he often is careless and just speaks his mind which leads him to get repeatedly beaten up and abused.

Konstantina Vanikiotis

One thought on “My First Memory

Leave a Reply

