My First Memory

Task 2: My first Memory

The first memory I could remember is when I was about 4 or 5 years old. We were still living in an apartment in Iberville, the family was still young. The apartment wasn’t big so we could’ve got from room to room quite easily. My father was cooking supper for the family and I was sitting at the table coloring my book and watching him cook. My father always warned me not to touch the pots and pans on the stove because they might be hot. When my dad went to the washroom for two minutes, I remember wanting to find out what we were having for supper that night. So I took a chair, put it next to the stove, climbed up and grabbed the pot with both of my hands. I remember my dad coming in and screaming at me, but the part that I don’t remember is not dropping the pot and burning both palms of my hands. Apparently I wouldn’t let go of the pot because “it was too hot to drop”.

Task 3: Brave Identity

The first memory I could remember is when I was about 4 or 5 years old. We were still living in an apartment in Iberville, the family was still young. The apartment wasn’t big so we could’ve got from room to room quite easily, but I didn’t care about the size I knew I was the fucken best no matter what. My father was cooking supper and I was coloring my book, every picture in that book was colored perfectly, I never went outside the lines once. I was watching my dad cook, pointing out his small flaws every time he made a mistake. I remember my dad always telling me to not touch the pots and the pans on the stove because they may be hot, but I didn’t care, I was going to to do what I wanted anyways. He went to the washroom for two minutes and I saw the pot had smoke coming out of it, so I took a chair, ran to the stove, put the chair next to the stove and jumped on top of it. I lifted the pot with both of my hands not caring about the consequences, and when I turned around I saw my dad with his jaw dropped. He put down the pot and lifted me up to the sky, chanting “You saved the apartment!” I burned both of my palms but to me that didn’t matter, what mattered was the fact that I saved the apartment, I knew what I had to do and I did it.

Task 4: Pathetic Identity

The first memory I could remember is when I was about 4 or 5 years old. We were still living in an apartment in Iberville, the family was still young. The apartment wasn’t big so we could’ve got from room to room quite easily, it was so small I hated it there. My father was cooking the same old supper he usually does, and I was coloring my book, I never used bright colors, I don’t know why I didn’t feel like they were appropriate for me. My father always did his fatherly duties, so he told me not to touch the pots and pans on the stove because they might be hot. He went to the washroom for two minutes. I remember grabbing a chair, putting it near the stove and climbing up. I put the pot in my hands, I wanted to see how it felt, I wanted to see if the pain could match the pain I had inside of me. I held the pot for a couples of seconds, only when the pain exceeded what I felt inside I put the pot back down. Then I took the chair placed it back at the table sat down and started to cry.

Task 5:

Henry’s image of himself changes throughout the novel, in the scene I have selected, Henry’s identity goes from being afraid of consequences to being a tough guy in an instance; “[Henry] began to feel brave and [Henry] landed a punch right on a guy’s mouth. [Henry] saw his lip split and blood began to dribble down his chin.The other two ran off.” (63). This demonstrates Henry being the tough guy who saves the day for Red. He was so tough that he scared off the other two boys. He sees himself as unbeatable in this scene. I would say, in this scene, Henry is just backing up his friend in a fight and nothing more. Henry would describe himself as “the man, the myth, the legend” expression because without him, everything would’ve been different. Even when they chase after them at the end of this scene it shows how big and how string Henry was feeling.

 

One thought on “My First Memory

Leave a Reply

