Me,myself and I at the beach…

Task two : Memoir

I remember as if it was yesterday, a beautiful summer day where the sun is waving at us with its warm hug. A perfect day, well that’s what I thought… I was probably 10 years old, summer had just started and the only thing that I was preoccupied was : Swim, eat and swim at the beach. Surprisingly, I managed to convince my parents to go to the nearest beach, not only had I convinced them but I also transformed my wish into a family trip. I couldn’t describe you how happy I was, with the simple idea that tomorrow will be the big day, after one night my feet could feel the moist sand and grains between my toes. The beautiful moving painting that was in front of me will come alive in not only 24 hours. I could almost smell the salty air and hear the moving waves. The day before I prepared and even did a checklist to be sure I didn’t forget something. Swimsuit…check, towel…check,excitement …check, now I can (try) to sleep.The bid day came and…I went to the beach, swam and not even 10 minutes in I hear : Clouds, dark sky, these words kept reasoning in my head and created an orchestra with the waves sounds.

Task three : Identity

I remember as if it was yesterday, a beautiful summer day where the sun is waving at us with its warm hug. A perfect day, well that’s what I thought… I was probably 10 years old, summer had just started and the only thing that I was preoccupied was : Swim, eat and swim at the beach. Surprisingly, I managed to convince my parents to go to the nearest beach, not only had I convinced them but I also transformed my wish into a family trip. I couldn’t describe you how happy I was, with the simple idea that tomorrow will be the big day, after one night my feet could feel the moist sand and grains between my toes. The beautiful moving painting that was in front of me will come alive in not only 24 hours. I could almost smell the salty air and hear the moving waves. The day before I prepared and even did a checklist to be sure I didn’t forget something. Swimsuit…check, towel…check,excitement …check, now I can (try) to sleep.The bid day came and…I went to the beach, swam and not even 10 minutes in I hear : Clouds, dark sky, these words kept reasoning in my head and created an orchestra with the waves sounds.when suddenly, the waves were more agitated, the sky that was once blue looked like a grey carpet and the sun, OH the sun had vanished, disappeared without even saying good bye. I tried to swim back,when I see another kid that seemed to wave back to me.He was not waving at me, he was drowning.  With all the courage that I had, my heart was beating faster, my arms and legs were moving faster too. Now, for once, my swimming classes will be useful. I had a duty, I was the guardian of the sea, I had only was task : rescue the poor infant.

Task four :     More Identity

I remember as if it was yesterday, a beautiful summer day where the sun is waving at us with its warm hug. A perfect day, well that’s what I thought… I was probably 10 years old, summer had just started and the only thing that I was preoccupied was : Swim, eat and swim at the beach. Surprisingly, I managed to convince my parents to go to the nearest beach, not only had I convinced them but I also transformed my desires into a family trip.
Great, now I will have to deal with my little brother and hear my old aunt stories and endure my grandmother’s wet kisses.What did I do to deserve this ? I couldn’t describe you how my excitement became quickly to boredom. I was, with the simple idea that tomorrow will be the big day, after one night my feet could feel the moist sand and grains between my toes. The beautiful moving painting that was in front of me will come alive in not only 24 hours. I could almost smell the salty air and hear the moving waves. The day before I prepared and even did a checklist to be sure I didn’t forget something. Swimsuit…check, towel…check,dullness …check, now I can (try) to sleep and dream about my trip.The bid day came and…I went to the beach, swam and not even 10 minutes in I hear : Clouds, dark sky, these words kept reasoning in my head and created an orchestra with the waves sounds.when suddenly, the waves were more agitated, the sky that was once blue looked like a grey carpet and the sun, OH the sun had vanished, disappeared without even saying good bye. I tried to swim back,when I see another kid that seemed to wave back to me.He was not waving at me, he was drowning.  With all the courage that I had, my heart was beating faster, my arms and legs were moving faster too. Now, for once, my swimming classes will be useful. I had a duty, I was the guardian of the sea, I had only was task : rescue the poor infant.  From the moment I saved him, he didn’t even thank me. I mean how rude he can be I lost my time with such an irksome persona. How could such a vulnerable human being can not respect an older person, like me , one year older than him. Yes, I said a boy. Of course I could have left him drown , he could have swim and saved himself after all.

Leila Bencherif

 

One thought on “Me,myself and I at the beach…

Leave a Reply

