It’s Just Me, Myself, and I

Task two: Memoir

My first memory:

I was in the hospital, and I remember lying down on a bed, and watching Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. I don’t know exactly how old I was, but I think I was around 3 years old. I could hear the movie playing even on the large bulky TV screen. The TV was placed to distract me from crying as the doctors were testing me. I had kidney failure and I didn’t know that during that time. I could see my parents waiting there, right beside me. The doctors were talking to each other, however I couldn’t recall what they were saying. I didn’t know how to speak French or English back then. Also, I remember how nervous I was, and scared about these tests I had to go through. I remember my mom and my dad trying to comfort me.

Task three: Identity (heroic)

I was in the hospital (Ste-Justine Hospital). Little as I was, I was a brave child. I was watching Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, lying down quietly on the bed. I had to endure all of this pain, but I still remained calm. I knew that I was one of the strongest (emotionally) kids in the world. That if I could go through this, I could go through anything in life. My parents were proud of me because I never screamed or cried. Only a 3 year old like my could handle a thing like this.

Task four: More identity (pathetic)

I was in the hospital, and I remember lying down on a bed, and watching Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. I don’t know exactly how old I was, but I think I was around 3 years old. I could hear the movie playing even on the large bulky TV screen. The TV was placed to distract me from crying as the doctors were testing me. I had kidney failure and I didn’t know that during that time, I was ignorant of the world around me, I practically knew nothing. I could see my parents waiting there, right beside me. The doctors were talking to each other, however I couldn’t recall what they were saying. I didn’t know how to speak French or English back then. Also, I remember how nervous I was, and scared about these tests I had to go through. I remember my mom and my dad trying to comfort me. I was so desperate to leave and to go home. There’s so little hope left in me. I didn’t know if I would be ever able to return home or not. I thought to myself well that’s it, I’ll probably be here forever alone with these mean doctors testing on me. As a cry baby I was, I starting crying, and the tears were coming down. The doctor told my father, ‘Your daughter is not cooperating with us’.

Task Five: Henry’s Identity

Choose a passage from anything you’ve read so far. A paragraph or a few sentences. Find something that you think demonstrates some aspect of Henry’s identity. Cite the passage here, and then write a few sentences that dissects how Henry feels about himself in this passage. How would you describe his personality here? How do you think he would describe it?

As I walked along I didn’t feel so alone and I wasn’t. I noticed a starving mongrel dog following me. The poor creature was terribly thin; I could see his ribs poking through his skin. Most of his fur had fallen off. What remained clung in dry, twisted patches. The dog was beaten, cowed, deserted, frightened, a victim of Homo sapiens.

I stopped and knelt, put out my hand. He backed off.                                                  “Come here, fellow, I’m your friend…Come on, Come on…”

He came closer. He had such sad eyes.                                                                               “What have they done to you, boy?”

He came still closer, creeping along the sidewalk, trembling, wagging his tail quite rapidly. Then he leaped at me. […] he was licking my face, mouth, ears, forehead, everywhere. I pushed him off, got up and wiped my face.

“Easy now! You need something to eat! FOOD!”

I reached into my bag and took out a sandwich. I unwrapped it and broke off a portion.

“Some for you and some for me old boy!”

I put his part of the sandwich on the side walk. (Bukowski, 202)

This passage clearly demonstrates how kind Henry is despite showing himself as a tough guy, he’s also a very sensitive guy, too. He cares about animals, which makes me think of him as a heartfelt guy. This nicely contrast his rough personality. And this passage made me fall in love with Henry. Him caring for the dog made me realize that he’s not as a tough or cold as he describes himself to be, he can also be a sensitive human being. He’s not a bad person. And I admired how he showed his soft side.

One thought on “It’s Just Me, Myself, and I

Leave a Reply

