“I”dentity

Task 2

My first memory was when I was a child, about 5 years old. When I was about 5 years old, I went on my swing in my backyard with my dad. We had one of the baby type swings that u sit inside of and don’t have to hold on. So, I went on and my dad started to push me but I wasn’t having fun. So, I told my dad that I wanted to go onto the big boy’s swing which was just a regular swing, and he told me “Alex you better hold on or else you will go flying”. As I was a child and just answered “yes, yes dad” and jumped on the swing all happy and confident. It started off well, my dad was pushing me lightly back and forth and after a while, my dad gave me a stronger push and I went flying into the air and landed on the grass with my leg bending the opposite way. We rushed to the hospital and for a few weeks, I had to get pushed around in a wheelchair wearing a cast on my whole right leg.

 

 

Task 3

My first memory was when I was a child, about 5 years old. When I was about 5 years old, I went on my swing in my backyard with my dad. We had one of the baby type swings that u sit inside of and don’t have to hold on. So, I went on and my dad started to push me but I wasn’t having fun. I kept on telling myself that I’m too good for this swing and it isn’t going fast enough or high enough. So, I told my dad that I wanted to go onto the big boy’s swing which was just a regular swing, and he told me “Alex you better hold on or else you will go flying” and I responded with “Ya, ya” and jumped on the swing all happy and confident. I was thinking to myself how cool I look at this moment on the big boy swing. It started off well, my dad was pushing me lightly back and forth and after a while, I told my dad that this was boring and told him to raise it up a notch. He warned me again to hold on and I responded “don’t worry about it”. My dad gave me a stronger push and I went flying into the air not worrying about the outcome and what can happen when I land. I landed on the grass with my leg bending the opposite way not worrying or crying just thinking that it will be really easy to fix and not hurt. We rushed to the hospital and for a few weeks, I had to get pushed around in a wheelchair wearing a cast on my whole right leg acting like a king and not worrying about life.

Task 4

My first memory was when I was a child, about 5 years old. When I was about 5 years old, I went on my swing in my backyard with my dad. We had one of the baby type swings that u sit inside of and don’t have to hold on. So, I went on and my dad started to push me and I was having so much fun. I did not want to get off this swing because it was so safe. After a while my dad told me to go onto the big boy’s swing which was just a regular swing, and he told me “Alex you better hold on or else you will go flying”. But I didn’t want to switch swing, I liked the baby swing but my dad started calling me names and making me feel bad. So, I switched swings and jumped on the swing all depressed and embarrassed because of what my dad told me. It started off well, my dad was pushing me lightly back and forth and after a while, my dad gave me a stronger push and I went flying into the air and landed on the grass with my leg bending the opposite way. I was balling my eyes out on the floor screaming for my mom. We rushed to the hospital and for a few weeks, I had to get pushed around in a wheelchair wearing a cast on my whole right leg.

Task 5

Chapter 12; The passage I will be talking about is pages 50-53 where Henry goes with his dad to deliver milk and witnesses his dad flirting with another woman and then comes home to dad beating his mom. Throughout the novel Henry is seen as a tough guy always beating up kids, getting into arguments at school and not being allowed to have any friends. The dad is hard on Henry resulting Henry to act the same way in public when he is alone but that is not his real self when he acts all tough with everybody. For example the first page of the novel Henry describes him being under a table alone where no one sees him and says; “…I like being under there”(9). We see that Henry likes being alone in silence where nobody sees him or pays attention to him because his dad is always paying attention to him telling him what to do. That’s why he likes it when he is alone. Another side of Henry is even if he gets all this negativity thrown his way, we would still make a connection that he still loves them in the end but when asked by his mom if Henry loves her, he says; “I really didn’t but she looked do sad that I said, Yes”. (52). Here we see that he does not love his mom and see his real side.

One thought on ““I”dentity

Leave a Reply

