Identity

Exercise 2=

When I was 3 years old I was in my parents old apartment with my dad. My mom was at the gym and I was in my room playing with my teddy bears. I remember it being cold , though I don’t remember what month it was. I was really tiny and I was trying to close the window. The window was really old because it was an old apartment building. Wood floors and everything. I couldn’t reach the top of the window so I took a chair and tried to close it. Somehow I got my thumb stuck underneath the window when it closed. I didn’t cry I remember just screaming for my dad who was in the kitchen making something. After that all I remember is my dad getting me a cloth and wrapping my thumb in it and I remember it was bleeding so much it went though the cloth. After that I don’t remember anything.

Exercise 3=

When I was 3 years old I was in my parents old apartment with my dad. My mom was at the gym and I was in my room playing with my teddy bears. I wasn’t an ordinary child, I was playing with my teddy bears but I was also saving them. I would throw them across the room and run to catch them and save the day. It was bitter cold that day, though I don’t remember what month it was. I was a tiny child, but strong and stubborn at best. I decided to try and close the window, though I couldn’t reach it. Me, being the intelligent one went and got a chair from the other room and managed to close it all on my own. I unfortunately had a little set back and got my finger caught underneath the window, no big deal. I just called for my dad to help open the window to set my thumb free. Didn’t break a sweat or even a tear. When I saw the blood it didn’t even freak me out, I was just wondering when I could go back to play with my teddy bears.

Exercise 4=

When I was 3 years old I was in my parents old apartment with my dad. My mom was at the gym , probably because she didn’t want to spend time with me. I was playing with my teddy bears, they seemed to be the only friends I had. It was so cold that day and I wasn’t strong enough to close the window in my room because I was so tiny. I decided to try anyways to try and impress my family so many they would love me. I got the chair from the other room and I tried to close the window and it collapsed on my thumb. I felt helpless but didn’t want to cry but I needed help to get it off my thumb, so I called for my dad. He came in and was freaking out. I failed my mission, I didn’t impress them, I made a fool out of myself.

Exercise 5= 

I find that Henry has a tough personality. When he gets called into the principles office, he doesn’t say that he’s a tough guy but, we can easily tell that he wants to be seen as one.

“Do you think I’m a tough guy?”  he asked.

“I’ll kill you,” I said.

“You’ll what?”

Mr.Knox tightened his grip. He had a hand like a vise. I could see every pore in his face. (Pg.36-37)

Henry doesn’t cry, doesn’t say a word as Mr.Knox’s grip gets tighter and tighter. He wants to be seen as a tough guy and through his interactions with people and how he reacts towards certain situations we see that he is. He could have cried or gave up and let his principle win, but he is too strong to let someone get the better of him. You can also say that Henry is stubborn. He won’t let people strong arm him into doing or saying anything. He knows that in  his neighborhood he needs to be tough and stubborn to survive.

Another passage that shows Henry’s toughness is when Henry is getting beaten in the bathroom by his father.

“He was unbelievable , I just wanted to get away from him. I couldn’t cry. I was too sick to cry, too confused. The strop landed once again. Then he stopped. I stood and waited.I heard him hanging up the strop.”(Pg70)

 

 

One thought on “Identity

Leave a Reply

