I Don’t Know Who I Am

Task Two:

My first memory is the day my mother decided dressing me up in a dress with frills and the color pink was a grand idea. I have never been the typical girl. Where most preferred to play with caterpillars and butterflies, I was outside digging through the dirt looking for worms. I remember the day clearly. I was awaiting my parents as my sister and I began to fool around. We were dancing and spinning, feeling the cool breeze on our cheeks as we each took a turn demonstrating our lack of talent in the dance department. We were convinced we were superstars, invincible to be exact. As I went to show my final move to wow the crowd I could feel my feet start to glide against the green textured panel son the floor. Stockings were never my favorite thing to wear, especially with a dress, but perhaps my mother was trying to make me conform to what she would prefer I be. My feet felt silky as if slipping through butter as I twirled. A sense of worry filled my gut and I felt myself take a big gulp swallowing my heart down to my stomach. Before I could even get the chance to catch myself my body was laying on the cold tiled floor. My head began to throb as a stinging pounding pain erupted on the left side of my head. The scent of pennies filled the air as my sisters cries for my mother and father echoed through the air. My vision was only a little blurred as I saw the silhouette of my mother approaching quickly. The look in her eyes illustrated that of someone who just came face to face with their worst nightmare. My mother took me in her lap and began to press and cold wet cloth onto my head. I saw the stain of my ruby blood fill the cloth as the scent of fresh laundry and pennies collided. Al I can recall next is hearing the soothing tone of my mother’s voice as she gently sung the words to the Barney song as a man proceeded to place a needle in and out of my scalp, stitching up the area. Holding my mothers trembling hand as she looked at me trying to deny the the water resting at the corner of her eyes, never falling.

Task Three:

My first memory is the day my mother decided dressing me up in a dress with frills and the color pink was a grand idea. I have never been the typical girl. Where most preferred to play with caterpillars and butterflies, I was outside digging through the dirt looking for worms. I remember the day clearly. I was awaiting my parents as my sister and I began to fool around. We were dancing and spinning, feeling the cool breeze on our cheeks as we each took a turn demonstrating our lack of talent in the dance department. We were convinced we were superstars, invincible to be exact. As I went to show my final move to wow the crowd I could feel my feet start to glide against the green textured panels on the floor. Stockings were never my favorite thing to wear, especially with a dress, but perhaps my mother was trying to make me conform to what a girl should be. My feet felt silky as if slipping through butter as I twirled. My mind and body got prepared for impact, I did not care of the outcome of this event. My body laid on the floor, my head began to throb as a stinging pounding pain erupted on the left side of my head. The scent of pennies filled the air as my sisters cries for my mother and father echoed through the air. My vision was only a little blurred as I saw the silhouette of my mother approaching quickly. The look in her eyes illustrated that of someone who just came face to face with their worst nightmare. I did not understand the severity of this moment, I knew everything will be alright. My mother took me in her lap and began to press a cold wet cloth onto my wound. I saw the stain of my ruby blood fill the cloth as the scent of fresh laundry and pennies collided. All I can recall next is hearing the my mother attempt to sing the Barney song as a way of soothing me, I was stronger than her.I held my mothers trembling hand as she looked at me trying to deny the the water resting at the corner of her eyes, never falling.

Task five:

In Chapter 39, we get a good glimpse of Henry’s character. He is driving his bike alongside a guy and his girlfriend in a car. Henry attempts to pick a fight with the guy and flips him off. Although the guy is older than Henry, he still tries to take him on to show that he his strong and something to be feared. This is also an attempt to push everyone else away by trying to be this thing that needs to be feared. However, when the guy pulls his car aside to end the fight with Henry, Henry takes a different root and avoids the fight all together. This just show that Henry is truly more talk than fight and just wants to be left alone by everyone or at least accepted. He seems not care a lot about what happens to him or the  pain he has to endure though. This illustrates how even though Henry appears to be tough and has this harsh exterior, it is truly a front for the scared child inside not wanting to feel hurt or abandoned by anyone again.

 

One thought on “I Don’t Know Who I Am

Leave a Reply

