Grumpy

Sara Vetere

Task 2:

The first thing that I distinctively remember from my earliest years was when I went to Disney Land with my family in 2006. I’d never been to Disney before and I was wildly excited to see all the princesses and characters that I thought were real of course. The only problem with this is that I loved and still do love roller coasters, but my height at this age limited me from going on the ones I wanted to go on most. I was a daredevil when it came to these things. The fact that I wasn’t allowed riding them made me furious. I still remember sitting in my carriage with my mom strolling me around, my arms crossed, and an angry face. My family had to deal with a very unhappy 8-year-old. At this time, Snow White was my favorite Disney princess. My mother decided to get me a huge hat resembling the dwarf “Grumpy” and attached it around my head. This made me extremely happy in the moment, because I loved the 7 dwarfs. Little did I know that she was somewhat mocking me, because the angry, annoyed and irritated mood I was in fit my costume perfectly. Although I don’t remember this, my mom told me that people we walked by in the parks would see me and die of laughter. I still have this head piece at home till this day, and it reminds me of that time that I was completely miserable at Disney Land, while my mom decided it would be a good idea to amuse others with my misery.

Task 3:

The first thing I distinctively remember from my earliest childhood years was when my family and I took a vacation to Disney Land. Being only 8 years old, the people at the rides told me I didn’t meet the necessary requirements to go on the ride. This is when I came to the realization. The roller coasters couldn’t handle the fact that a young, fragile, 8-year-old like me, would be able to handle their “horrors”. This embarrassed them and I mean, I don’t blame them. Little did they know that I was the toughest 8-year-old there was. My mother then decided to buy me a present to reward me for how tough I really was. Out of all 7 dwarfs to choose from, she randomly decided to choose Grumpy. As people walked by, I saw them laugh, but this was probably because my poor mother was forced to push me around in my carriage and not go on the rides because of my height. She was punished because the roller coasters couldn’t accept the fact that I could go on them, and I did apologize to her for this.

Task 4:

The first thing I distinctively remember from my earliest childhood years was when we took a family vacation to Disney Land. Being only 8 years old, I already knew what I had signed up for. I wasn’t big enough to do the majority of the rides, and this was utterly embarrassing to me. My cousins were 3 years older than me, and when I saw them enter the ride while I was forced to stay outside, I’ve never felt so excluded. To top it all off, my mother thought it would be a good idea to embarrass me for her own entertainment. She bought me a grumpy hat because of how sad I was, so now my costume perfectly fit my mood. Not only did I feel horrible about myself, but now the people mocking me because of my costume made me feel even worse.

Task 5:

Henry’s identity is portrayed in several different ways throughout the first 70 pages of the novel. To begin with, he didn’t have many friends at school. When the kids are playing Kickball during physical education, and someone got Henry extremely angry. Henry states, “It was the boy with vaseline in his hair and the long black nostril hairs. I spun around. ‘Hey!’ I said. He stopped. I looked at him. ‘Don’t ever say anything to me again.’ I saw the fear in his eyes. He walked out to his position and I went and leaned against the fence while our team came to the plate. Nobody stood near me but I didn’t care. I was gaining ground.” (48). This demonstrates how Henry is trying to act like a tough individual, and he scares off the kids around him. This is then contradicted, when Henry’s mother is speaking to him and asks, “Henry, do you love your mother?”. Henry says, “I really didn’t but she looked at me  so said that I said, ‘Yes’.” (52). This is the perfect example of no matter how tough he makes himself seem, he can’t really state how he truly feels in situations where it’s needed most. We also see a rebellious side of Henry’s identity when he states, “My father always ran the neighbourhood kids away from our house. I was told not to play with them but I walked down the street and watched them anyhow.” (60). This shows how he doesn’t always listen to what his father commands him to do, and he does even end up playing a little bit of football with Red. We also see how Henry isn’t as tough as he thinks he is in his discussions with Mr. Knox on pages 36-37. This teacher felt the need to prove to Henry that he really wasn’t as tough as he thought he was.

One thought on “Grumpy

Leave a Reply

