Demonstrate in Action

I thought of rushing in, grabbing the cat and running, but I didn’t have the nerve. I was afraid that the bulldog would attack me. The knowledge that I didn’t have the courage to do what was necessary made me feel terrible. I began to feel physically sick.  I was weak. I didn’t want it to happen yet I couldn’t think of any way to stop it. (89)

Henry here is placed in a situation where a cat is about to be attacked by Chuck’s big bulldog. The dog is much bigger, and theres no way for the cat to escape. It is clear in this situation that Henry is faced with decisions that determine what type of character he his, he has the choice of either showing bravery, or to avoid the conflict and sit there in his fear. I find this scene shows how henry is very well intentioned even though he is always putting up this rough shell to keep up his toughness. The scene goes on with Henry trying to verbally get the situation to stop but, he never goes further than that. By that reaction, it shows that Henry deep down is well intentioned for others, but avoids getting involved, this demonstrates his slight cowardness.

Leave a Reply

