Body Mapping

For my creative assignment, the medium I will be using is visual arts. More specifically, I will be doing a variation of Body Mapping. Body Mapping is an art therapy approach used in Social Work to get client’s to explore their thoughts, feelings, and emotions. In traditional practice, a client would draw, scribble or color on a blank paper with an outline of a body. The client is asked to demonstrate how a certain emotion affects them physically. For example, a client who has anger issues may aggressively color their hands and head because those are telltale signs for them that they are experiencing an episode. They could describe the situation as: “When I get angry, my thoughts begin racing, my palms become sweaty and I have the need to punch something”. Nevertheless, as mentioned earlier, I will be putting a twist to this therapeutic approach. My body map will be demonstrating key elements of Anna’s identity as well as her emotions. This includes her mentality, her darkness, her innocence, etc. I will be taking certain passages from the book and will be displaying it artistically on my map and justifying the image. For example, we know that Anna is a virgin in the beginning of the novel but she then turns into a promiscuous woman. A representation of this could be a flower slowing dying covering her groin region. There are many areas of interpretation in which I am hoping to add my creative touch.

Melvin Buquerente

One thought on “Body Mapping

Leave a Reply

