Voyage In The Dark Creative Assignment Proposal

 

 

The scene I have selected starts on page 75 and finishes on page 77. It is the scene where Anna and Walter are back at Walter’s house and they discuss the situation about Germaine and Vincent and where Anna and Walter sleep together.

 

My idea is to have the same scene from Walter’s perspective, so all the dialogue would be the same, the only thing is the story will be 1st person through Walter. Walter is an older man, who is also a piece if shit, so I could use that mind set when writing what he is thinking. The theme of Anna’s bad selection of men is seen through Walter, now we ca see how bad he really is with his thoughts of Anna and the situation they are in. We can see what all men in her life are really after and their mindsets.

 

Examples I could say would be:

 

“Well that is old for a woman” (75) Walter is commenting on Anna’s age but she doesn’t realize it, so in his perspective I could put, “she’s going to be old soon, too old for my liking…”

 

“I was disappointed in Germaine” (75) scene where he makes a comment on how Vincent couldn’t give enough money to Germaine. From his perspective u could say “and if this whore thinks she’s getting a penny over what I’m going to give her she lost her mind…”

 

“By the way, why did you tell Vincent about South Sea…” (75) He is disappointed in her decisions, like a father figure.

 

When she is lying in bed after thinking about what happened (77) I could assume what he does after that night.

Giuseppe Gallo

One thought on “Voyage In The Dark Creative Assignment Proposal

  1. This is a good idea. But your “examples” are confusing. Is this how you are going to write it? I don’t quite get it. I think you should rewrite the scene, from Walter’s perspective. So, you can keep the same dialogue, Leave out the bits where you say things like this: “Walter is commenting on Anna’s age but she doesn’t realize it, so in his perspective I could put…” Just put it in his perspective. Do you know what I mean? If you can do that, it could a really cool re-imagining of this scene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

