Creative Project Proposal

By Jerry Huang

In my creative project, I plan to make a short piano piece (~2 minutes). I will borrow a microphone and record the sound as I play the pieces. In terms of creating the music, I plan on borrowing melodies I can find in a variety of different musical pieces which I can then fuse to create a piece of my own, one I feel will encompass what I am attempting to express through it.

I intend to create the pieces with the goal of each being able to envelop a specific aspect of Anna’s character within the story. While it may be difficult to create a resonating piece with the sound of only one instrument, I feel as though by using the correct tempo and by varying the dynamics of the piece, I can make a melody that will portray how I interpret Anna’s suffering.

The reason I want to create music that expose the emotional aspects of Anna’s mind is because as a character, the tragedy she experiences is something that I feel is more difficult to express through writing than through music. I feel as though using music can resonate with an audience better than any other medium, hence I have chosen it the medium I will use.

The scene I plan to use as the template for my creative piece is the final chapter, as Anna lies on the doorstep of death with her survival unknown to the reader. I want to use this scene because in it, Anna experiences a variety of feelings, yet all of them express her sadness and the tragedies she has experienced in her life. However, there is still a sense of hope that exists within Anna, hence this can easily allow for the infusion of many different tempos within the music, allowing it to be both expressive and unexpected.

One thought on “Creative Project Proposal

Leave a Reply

