Depression hurts

The possibility to combine skills acquired in different classes, in one project, is a great way for me to apply in practice the obtained information. For the creativity project I decided to apply an approach learned by me in one of my Social Services classes, and specifically Body-Mapping. According to Annette Schwalbe (2014), body Mapping is: “a creative therapeutic process that allows you to explore and creatively communicate the stories that you live in your body”.

Body mapping can help individuals understand the complexity of their identities. By creating Anna’s body map, it will be easier to understand her personality, but also to see the connection between her outside and inside world. I think Anna is at a stage of her life where she tries to understand who she is, and what she wants to do with her life. Accordingly, Anna is stuck between her past and present, and connecting all the facts it will give us a better image of what really happens in her life, as this approach is a holistic one, it studies the person as a whole: spiritual, emotional, mental and physical.

I will imagine that I am a Social Worker and Anna is my client, and this approach will be used during one of the sessions to help my understanding of Anna’s situation. In my project I am going to focus on the whole novel, because it is full of clues that will help me better understand Anna’s personality, and create her body map. I will try to identify events, and elements in her life that lead to depression, and to the struggles in her life. Usually the body map of ones body is of the individual’s real height, but I will do it in a smaller size and use colors to shape events and feelings from Anna’s life.

One thought on “Depression hurts

Leave a Reply

