Haik you Find you

1-You are a therapist and Lionel has asked you for a diagnosis about what the greatest obstacle to his own happiness is. Write him a short letter with your professional diagnosis. You do not need to know anything about psychology to do this. I mean, just being a human and living in the world until now qualifies you.

Dear Lionel,

I hope you are doing great. I heard about your concerns on your lifestyle, hence, I decided to write you a letter with tips that can hopefully help you. In my perspective, I think that the greatest obstacle to your own happiness is a lack of confidence and trust in yourself. It may sound like a cliché, but the only way to be happy in this word is being proud of who you are. You need to lay down and ask yourself many question to get to know you. Who am I? What is my role in this life? What do I want to complete in my life? What are the problems in my life? What are the solutions to those issues? What do I like? What am I good at? The best way to get to know who are you is to ask yourself question. Questions are really important in life. They serve as a point of guidance in your life. I am aware that losing Frank, your source of happiness and role model, was dreadful. However, Frank isn’t the only thing there is in life.

2-Write a Haiku that encapsulates Lionel’s plight in this novel.

When you’re done, give your post a title, feature image, and publish the following category: Creativity Lab.

Haik you Find you

Lionel “DICKWEED”,

There is more in life than Frank

Find your own outlet

016564424_303003-The options: Listed below are the aspects of the novel you could choose to focus on (these choices are inspired by scriptmag.com. See supplementary reading on blog). You will choose ONE of the following. There might be some natural overlap between some of these, but you’ll mainly focus on one:

  • The world and setting of the story.
  • The secondary characters.
  • Lionel Essrog: what’s the most interesting or compelling aspect of his character? Who would you choose to play him, and why?
  • The major core conflict of the story and why or how this occurs. This should include the narrator’s inner conflict.
  • A few key scenes.
  • The dialogue.
  • The language. This can include Lionel’s narration, and most interestingly, his verbal tics.
  • The major overarching theme of the book. What kind of universal human truth does this novel suggest?
  • The tone of the book. The overall feeling or mood.
  • Perhaps there’s another aspect you’d like to talk about that’s not on the list? Pitch it to me.
  • Option if you disliked the book: A paper describing why you think it should not be made into a film. Please, Ed, don’t do it. Again, you will focus on one of the above aspects, and discuss why you either find it uninteresting, cliché, trite, or unrealistic.

According to me, the aspect that the novel should focus on is the main character, Lionel. As I was reading the book, my main concentration was on the protagonist and the way that he interacts with other characters. I believe that Lionel and some other characters such as Tony, Frank, Matricardi and Rockaforte give the novel a nice, interesting touch. The storyline wasn’t really my main concern. What I really liked about this book is the characterization of Lionel. Just the fact that he has Tourette’s makes the book more compelling and enjoyable to read. Who would have thought that you could chuckle more than anxious when you are reading a detective novel?

Ilyas Mohamed

Leave a Reply

