Creativity Lab Tasks

Written by: Jerry Huang

Task 3:

  • The world and setting of the story.
    • I am relatively indifferent towards this topic mainly because while I find there’s a decent amount of information which can be discussed and I feel that these aspects do play an important role in the story, it can become somewhat tedious and difficult to elaborate extremely clearly about.
  • The secondary characters.
    • I would definitely not write about this aspect of the novel, primarily because for much of the story Lionel is the only named character present. Few secondary characters get any real amount of development and they remain extremely static throughout, making it difficult to analyze them and the fact that the novel comes from a first-person perspective makes it even harder to view them objectively.
  • Lionel Essrog: what’s the most interesting or compelling aspect of his character? Who would you choose to play him, and why?
    • I would probably not write about this topic, primarily because I find that the second part of the question can be difficult. While I feel that Lionel’s character would not be difficult and there’s a great deal to write about, however the task of trying to associate his character with an actor would be something difficult to do and it can be easy to appear unconvincing especially if you were to choose a relatively unknown actor.
  • The major core conflict of the story and why or how this occurs. This should include the narrator’s inner conflict.
    • I would likely take this as a second option on the book, mainly because there’s a large amount of exposure to Lionel’s inner thoughts, which help bring a lot of fine detail towards how the main conflict, which I feel is his emotional battle with himself.
  • A few key scenes.
    • I don’t think I would write about this topic primarily because I find that a movie a movie adaptation should be based on a work as a whole, rather than focusing on specific moments which are meant to either make or break a film.
  • The dialogue.
    • I would rather stay away from this topic simply because I personally find the dialogue of the novel and the way conversations progress in the novel confusing and sometimes frustrating to read, and placing this type of dialogue into a film would be rather difficult and can appear as unconvincing.
  • The language. This can include Lionel’s narration, and most interestingly, his verbal tics.
    • Like the previous topic, I feel as though it would be difficult to properly discuss why the dialogue or language would be the most important aspect of the film, as I don’t feel as though this is the case.
  • The major overarching theme of the book. What kind of universal human truth does this novel suggest?
  • The tone of the book. The overall feeling or mood.
  • Perhaps there’s another aspect you’d like to talk about that’s not on the list? Pitch it to me.
  • Option if you disliked the book: A paper describing why you think it should not be made into a film. Please, Ed, don’t do it. Again, you will focus on one of the above aspects, and discuss why you either find it uninteresting, cliché, trite, or unrealistic.
    • I’m leaning towards this option for the film adaptation assignment primarily because I personally feel that the novel can be difficult to read and understand, something that wouldn’t transfer well into a film. In addition, the plot is rather outdated and I feel as though many, including myself, would find it as an uninteresting parody of Martin Scorcese’s The Departed.

Task 6:

Dear Mr. Esserog,

As your therapist, I have come to a conclusion that what is causing you great agony and impeding your from obtaining the happiness you seek is your own lack of self-confidence and constant self-deprecation. To attain happiness, you must learn to value yourself and be willing to accept that your flaws are simply a part of yourself, instead of viewing them as a hindrance that makes you inferior to others. Such an impediment to your own emotional state is what is likely causing so much turmoil in your personal relationships with others and why you feel you lack any real emotional connections with anyone else in your life. It is also probably why your felt such an emotional attachment to Frank, and why his death seems to haunt you incessantly. Although I empathize with your situation, I also believe that you need to learn to evolve from this type of narrow-minded perspective in life. While I do not believe you are not suffering from it currently, you are showing various signs of depression and I believe you are at risk of self-harm. I am therefore suggesting that you attend a week long retreat at a vacation center far from Brooklyn, which is where all the stresses in your life stem from. You need time to decompress from all the troubles that have been occurring in your life recently, therefore it is of your best interest to attend it. I hope to see your progress within the coming weeks.

Best regards,

Dr. Jerry Huang

Task 7:

A freak of nature

Nursing a troubled conscience

I walk through darkness

Leave a Reply

